Adolf Martin Weder

( Dölf Weder / Dolf Weder / Doelf Weder )

Rev. Dr. theol.
EAY Secretary General 1990-1999
Church President since 2000

Goethestr. 79, CH-9008 St. Gallen, Switzerland


Weder

Website:
http://www.weder.ch

E-Mail:
weder@weder.ch

Speeches, photographs and information of the evangelical-reformed theologian, former church President and Secretary General of the European Alliance of YMCAs (YMCA Europe), Rev. Dr. Adolf Martin Weder.

Adolf Martin Weder was born in Burgdorf BE on the 26th of December 1950, since 1956 he lives in St. Gallen. In the age of eleven, first contact with the youth work of the YMCA St. Gallen. The YMCA became a shaping force for active youth years and the direction of the whole life. After the gymnasium at the Cantonal School St. Gallen followed studies in economy and social sciences at the University of St. Gallen, and in theology, social psychology and applied informatics at the University of Zürich.  In 1979 Dölf Weder received a doctor degree (Dr. theol.) in practical theology with a thesis on "Christian Youth Work", and - after serving one year as a vicar in the parishes of Zürich-Seebach and Baar - was ordained as a minister (VDM) of the evangelical-reformed church.

1979 to 1986 Adolf Martin Weder worked as General Secretary of the YMCA St. Gallen. During the years 1987 to 1990 he worked as a parish minister in Wil SG, later combined with a part-time employment as a lecturer for religion at the Cantonal School in St. Gallen.

Adolf Martin Weder represented the Swiss YMCA already since the seventies on European and World YMCA level. In 1990 he was called to serve as the Secretary General of the European Alliance of YMCAs (YMCA Europe), the European YMCA umbrella organisation with almost two million programme participants, seat in St. Gallen, since 1999 in Prague. 

In summer 1998 Adolf Martin Weder became a part-time councillor of the Evangelical-reformed Church of the Canton St. Gallen. Until the end of 1999 he was responsible for its adult education department. 2000 to 2014 he served as its President.

Adolf Martin Weder got to know wide parts of Europe and his people through extensive professional and private travel. Study trips and professional journeys led him also to North- and South-America, Asia, North-Africa and the Caribbean. 

Last Updated: 13.09.2014 - Doelf / Dolf Weder - Weder Index - Weder germ

Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder

Pfr. Dr. theol.
Generalsekretär CVJM Europa 1990-1999
Kirchenratspräsident 2000-2014

Goethestr. 79, CH-9008 St. Gallen, Switzerland


Weder

Website:
http://www.weder.ch

E-Mail:
weder@weder.ch

Reden, Photographien und Informationen des evangelisch-reformierten Theologen, Kirchenratspräsidenten und früheren Generalsekretärs des Europäischen CVJM Bundes (EAY), Pfr. Dr. theol. Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder.

Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder wurde am 26. Dez. 1950 in Burgdorf BE geboren, seit 1956 lebt er in St. Gallen. Mit elf Jahren erster Kontakt mit der Jugendarbeit des CVJM St. Gallen. Der CVJM wurde prägend für aktive Jugendjahre und für das ganze Leben. Nach der Matura am Gymnasium der Kantonsschule St. Gallen folgten Studien in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität St. Gallen, in Theologie, Sozialpsychologie und angewandter Informatik an der Universität Zürich, abgeschlossen 1979 mit einem Doktorat in Praktischer Theologie zum Thema "Christliche Jugendarbeit" und - nach einem Vikariat in Zürich-Seebach und Baar - mit der Ordination zum evangelisch-reformierten VDM (Pfarrer).

1979 bis 1986 wirkte Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder als Jugendsekretär des CVJM St. Gallen. In den Jahren 1987 bis 1990 arbeitete er als Gemeindepfarrer in Wil SG, teilweise verbunden mit einem Teilpensum für Religionsunterricht an der Kantonsschule St. Gallen.

Nachdem Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder den schweizerischen CVJM bereits seit den Siebzigerjahren auf europäischer und zum Teil Weltebene vertreten hatte, wurde er 1990 zum Generalsekretär des Europäischen CVJM Bundes berufen, dem europäischen CVJM Dachverband mit gegen zwei Millionen Programmteilnehmenden, Sitz in St. Gallen, seit 1999 in Prag.

Im Sommer 1998 wurde Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder nebenamtlich Kirchenrat der Evangelisch-reformierten Kirche des Kantons St. Gallen und betreute bis Ende 1999 das Ressort Erwachsenenbildung. 2000 bis 2014 war er deren Kirchenratspräsident, Leiter der kantonalkirchlichen Exekutive.

Adolf Martin (Dölf) Weder hat durch ausgedehntes berufliches und privates Reisen weite Teile von Europa und dessen Menschen kennen gelernt. Berufliche und Studienreisen führten ihn zudem nach Nord- und Südamerika, Asien, Nordafrika und in die Karibik. 

Letzter Update: 15.04.2014 - Dölf Weder - Weder Index - Weder engl